Business Person of the Year

Congratulations to Jennifer Perlmutter, the 2020 Business Person of the Year!

On Friday, January 31, 2020, the Lafayette Chamber will honor Jennifer Perlmutter, the Lafayette Business Person of the Year during the State of the City Address at the Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa.



Lafayette's 2020 Business Person of the Year - Jennifer Perlmutter!

A little more than a year ago the Lafayette Chamber – and the community – was concerned that there were so many vacancies in the downtown core area of our business district along Mt. Diablo Blvd. Seventeen buildings sat empty with little movement for perspective business to take root in Lafayette. Discussions began to consider alternate short- term leases to allow “pop-up” business to operate, filling the empty buildings and keeping our downtown vibrant.

At the same time, just down the street, artist Jennifer Perlmutter was working behind the scenes with Steve Cortese (The Mercantile and La Fiesta Square) and his staff to consider developing a plan to do a “pop-up” art gallery in the vacant old World Savings/Wells Fargo building on the corner of Mt. Diablo Blvd. and Moraga Rd. Roughly 6,000 square feet of space was offered to Jennifer in a 6 month lease.

Jennifer already had a successful art gallery in town, The Jennifer Perlmutter Gallery, located at 3620 Mt. Diablo Blvd. She was ready to take on a new project. Her vision took the bank space, teller’s booths, the vault and the natural light and created a place where art and community came together. The new gallery was named JPG@TheBank. From her opening day on Valentine’s Day 2019 each exhibit has highlighted a variety of media, large and small sculptures and illustrations. But what makes the gallery unique is the way other art forms are celebrated. Music, Performing Art, Poetry, and Art in Motion have all been woven into the fabric that has become a center for our community to meet, learn and appreciate art.

As her vision came into focus it not only filled the old bank, it changed the neighborhood. Most of our vacant spaces are now thriving businesses. Her generosity and inclusiveness has brought so many new people to our downtown. She connected with art students at Saint Mary’s College and has brought speakers and presenters together on an array of subjects.

Jennifer Perlmutter’s tent is large enough for all of us in Lafayette to gather and be rewarded by experiencing art. She helped make our community a better place to work, live, learn, shop and play. That is why she was named the Lafayette Chamber’s 2020 Marquis Business Person of the Year.

What interests Jennifer is the transformative power creativity and art can have on your life. Her mission is sharing creativity that touches and inspires. When you visit JPG@TheBank, you can pick up the souvenir coffee mug with some interesting questions on it.

“What is art? Where do you see art? Why does art matter?”

Just before JFK died in Dallas, he said: “We must never forget that art is not a form of propaganda; it is a form of truth.”

The “Marquis” Business Person of the Year Annual Dinner will be held on Friday, January 31, 2020, beginning at 6:00pm at the Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa. The evening also includes the introduction to the Lafayette Chamber’s 2020 Board of Directors, our incoming President John McCormick (Lamorinda Music) and the “State of the City” address by Mayor Mike Andersen. Please join us for this celebration.



About the Lafayette Business Person of the Year

Criteria for the Lafayette Business Person of the Year includes:

  • Current Lafayette Chamber of Commerce Member;
  • Is involved with a successful business;
  • Has been involved with either the Chamber or other community based organizations;
  • Their work should support our mission: To promote and maintain a healthy business climate and to preserve and enhance the quality of life in Lafayette;
  • Someone who has given of their time, money or energy to help make Lafayette a healthy community where people will want to live, work and shop;
  • Someone who models excellence in everything they do;
  • Someone who brings this community together and/or makes us proud to be a member of the community.

Former BPOY Award Recipients Include: Ed Stokes, Paul Barendregt, Dan Kelly, Barb Sorken, Dave Hill, Don Jenkins, Cynthia Murdough, Paul Bettelheim, Bob Ewen, Sereta Churchill, Ann Denny, Caesar Perales, Dennis Garrison, Scott Hampton & Wendy Tamis, Steve Cortese, Mike Heller, Mo Levich, Larry Blodgett, Tom Courtright, Larry Duson, Jay Lifson, Colleen McCormick, Brian Aiello, Leila Douglah, Andy and Wendy Scheck, Brenda Oum, Dana Green and Terry Ring.

Questions? Feel free to call the Lafayette Chamber at 925-284-7404.